Bullet journaling and other experiments

Am not a new year new me person, but I sometimes am too reflective for my own good!

I love making lists, crossing things off them and maintaining a journal about whatever I feel like. This habit has more to do with my obsession with stationary and less to do with all the emotionally healthy benefits maintaining a journal should have.

The idea of maintaining a diary was imbibed at a young age by my mother who felt I was never an expressive child. Maybe growing up I have come to acknowledge that  I bottle up every damn thing eventually ending up in one BIG mess!

While I don’t think keeping one has helped me get any better at letting my emotions flow, I admit the only two diaries where I made honest entries were burnt using lighter liquid, its remains flung in the trash far away only because I happened to re- read things I had written and I thought it was really whiny and unnecessarily negative!

Anyway as I was getting back on track and needed a sure shot way of holding myself accountable, I came across the concept of bullet journaling. Some of the templates I saw were so so pretty I was just super eager to have a pretty book like that of my own! (AGAIN, stationary) Here’s a link to some beautiful ideas:

https://www.buzzfeed.com/nicolenguyen/genius-ways-you-can-customize-your-bullet-journal?utm_term=.jfp8XWklX#.bwAKP2YwP

I’m artistically challenged btw! As much as I’d love to paint beautiful landscapes and draw inspiration from Pinterest to doll up my living space. I absolutely am TERRIBLE at it! A former zoology student I have been asked to re-submit papers on multiple occasions not because I could not wrap my head around complex biological terms but because my sketches were nothing close to looking like human organs.

I once had to redraw a sunflower to clear my botany paper. I was 18 years then.Since that day I have stuck to things that I can do a decent job at and never attempted to try art! Anyway, stationary gets me super excited so along with getting back to keeping a diary I have tried to incorporate some bulletin ideas. Here’s a peek into what my March habit tracker looks like:

copy-of-file_000

It has been two months now and am going to follow a basic version of this because a tracker goes a long way and helps you find out where you have been slacking and how you can realistically overcome a roadblock. For example, I observed I tend to spend more during the weekends even if I home-cooked all my meals and avoided drinking.  A walk never is just a walk as I used to buy things I absolutely do not need just because I had the time to browse stores and had cash with me. Once I figured a pattern I stopped withdrawing cash, left my cards at home and carried with me only the bare minimum I might need in case of an emergency while I was out. A few weeks of following this, I tossed out all the extra trash I wasted cash on, and now don’t even get tempted to indulge in mindless things anymore. ( yay! Am not nearly broke and dying for payday or contemplating asking money at home by the end of the month)

Tracking my habits overall has given me a much more positivity about things, no matter how my day goes, as I look at the various charts and make an entry into my journal, it gives me hope. Hope that I can try again tomorrow and that it is never too late to start over.

3 thoughts on “Bullet journaling and other experiments

  1. Great stuff, love this! 🙂

    Bullet journaling is such a good way to keep track of your habits, just like you’re doing. It’s a great visual representation of how things are going and helps you to see your success and discover your pitfalls, just as you did with your shopping habits.

    To helps stay accountable for your healthy changes, remember your reason why you are incorporating each of these things into your life. For example, I see that you are tracking meditation, by remembering why you want to do this, it will help increase the frequency of the habit and it will eventually be ingrained. For example, it might be for peace of mind or a greater sense of calm in the mornings.

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habit. The episode with Derek Doepker may be of interest to you where he discusses how to make lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

Leave a Reply

